National Perspective Plan (NPP) for Water Resources Development was formulated by the Government of India in 1980 for providing storage and transfer of surplus waters from water surplus basins to water deficit basins so as to mitigate the ravages of floods and also to minimize the miseries brought by droughts. Under the NPP, the National Water Development Agency (NWDA) has identified 30 links (16 under the Peninsular Component & 14 under the Himalayan Component) for the preparation of Feasibility Reports. Detailed Project Reports (DPRs) of eight links have been completed. Details and the current status of the proposals for the inter-State linking of rivers under the Inter Linking of Rivers (ILR) Programme is furnished at Annexure Below.


Ken-Betwa Link project (KBP) is the first ILR project, for which implementation has been initiated. In December 2021, the Government of India approved for implementation of KBLP at an estimated cost of Rs. 44,605 crore (at the year 2020-21 price level), including central support of Rs. 39,317 crores. During the financial year 2021-22, an expenditure of Rs. 4,639.46 crores was made toward the implementation of KBP. For the financial year 2022-23, a budget allocation of Rs. 1,400 crores has been made for the purpose, while the expenditure made so far during the current financial year is Rs. 394.77 crores.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Jal Shakti, Shri Bishweswar Tudu in a written reply in Lok Sabha on December 15th 2022.



Details and status of the proposals for inter-state linking of rivers under the Inter Linking of Rivers Programme




Name Rivers States concerned Status
Peninsular Component
1(a) Mahanadi (Manibhadra)–

Godavari (Dowlaiswaram) link

Mahanadiand Godavari Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana,

Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Karnataka and Maharashtra

FR Completed.
1(b) Mahanadi (Bermul)–

Godavari (Dowlaiswaram) link

Mahanadi and Godavari do FR Completed.


2 Godavari(Inchampall)-Krishna(Pulichintala)


Godavariand Krishna Odisha, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra

and Karnataka

FR Completed.
3 Godavari(Inchampalli)-Krishna (Nagarjunasagar) link Godavariand Krishna –do– FR Completed.


4 Godavari(Polavaram)

– Krishna(Vijayawada) link

Godavari and Krishna –do– FR Completed.
5 Krishna(Almatti)

–Pennar link

Krishna and Pennar Telangana, Andhra Pradesh,Maharashtra and Karnataka FR Completed.
6 Krishna (Srisailam)–Pennar link Krishna and Pennar –do– FR Completed.
7 Krishna(Nagarjunasagar)-Pennar (Somasila) link Krishna and Pennar –do– FR Completed.
DPR Completed.
8 Pennar (Somasila)–Cauvery(Grand Anicut) link Pennar and Cauvery Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry FR Completed.
DPR Completed.
9 Cauvery (Kattalai)–Vaigai–Gundar link Cauvery, Vaigai and


Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry DPR Completed.
10 Ken–Betwa link Ken and Betwa Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh DPR Completed.

KBLP has been approved.

11(i) Parbati – Kalisindh –Chambal link Parbati, Kalisindhand Chambal Madhya Pradesh,Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan requested to be Consulted during consensus building) FR Completed.
(ii) Parbati-Kuno-Sindh link Parbati, Kuno and Sindh Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan PFR completed.$
12 Par-Tapi-Narmada link Par, Tapi and Narmada Maharashtra and Gujarat DPR Completed.
13 Damanganga – Pinjal link Damanganga and Pinjal –do– DPR Completed.
14 Bedti-Varada link Bedti and Varada Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka PFR Completed.

Draft DPR completed

15 Netravati – Hemavati link Netravati

and Hemavati

Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala PFR Completed.
16 Pamba – Achankovil –Vaippar link Pamba,Achankovil and Vaippar Kerala and Tamil Nadu FR Completed.

Integration of Eastern Rajasthan Canal Project of Rajasthan and Parbati – Kalisindh – Chambal link.

Himalayan Component
1. Manas-Sankosh-Tista-Ganga(M-S-T-G)link Manas, Sankosh,

Tista and Ganga


(Assam,West Bengal and Bihar)

FR completed.


2. Kosi-Ghaghra link Kosi and Ghaghra NEPAL&INDIA

(Bihar and Uttar Pradesh)

PFR completed
3. Gandak-Ganga link Gandak and Ganga –do– FR completed (Indian portion)
4. Ghaghra-Yamuna link Ghaghra and Yamuna –do– FR completed (Indian portion)
5. Sarda-Yamuna link Sarda and Yamuna NEPAL&INDIA

(Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Haryana

And Rajasthan)

FR completed (Indian portion)
6. Yamuna-Rajasthan link Yamuna and Sukri Gujarat, Rajasthan, Haryana and UttarPradesh FR completed
7. Rajasthan-Sabarmati link Sabarmati –do– FR completed
8. Chunar-Sone Barrage link Ganga and Sone Bihar and Uttar Pradesh Draft FR completed
9. Sone Dam – Southern Tributaries of Ganga link Sone and Badua Bihar and Jharkhand PFR completed
10. Ganga (Farakka)-Damodar-

Subernarekha link

Ganga, Damodar and Subernarekha West Bengal,Odisha and Jharkhand FR completed

DPR in progress

11. Subernarekha-Mahanadi link Subernarekha and Mahanadi West Bengal and Odisha FR completed
12. Kosi-Mechi Link Kosi and Mechi NEPAL & INDIA

(Bihar and West Bengal)

PFR completed
13. Ganga (Farakka)-Sunderbans link Ganga and Ichhamati West Bengal FR completed
14. Jogighopa-Tista-Farakka link (Alternative to M-S-T-G) Manas,Tista and Ganga Assam, Bihar and West Bengal Dropped

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!