Dehradun, 15 July ( UH). Dr. Piyus Rautela, executive director of Disaster Mitigation and management center Uttarakhand has been conferred the National Geoscience Awards (NGA) for 2019 in a grand ceremony held at Dr. Ambedkar International Centre, New Delhi, recently. The National Geo Science Award is the highest award in earth sciences in India.

Union home minister Amit Shah and Union minister for mines Prahlad Joshi were present on the occasion. Several other scientists from across the country were awarded for their contributions to geosciences. Among those who were present on the occasion includes the Secretary, Ministry of Mines Shri Alok Tandon, senior functionaries of the ministry, subordinate offices, and different state governments.

Dr. Rautela was among those 12 imminent individual geoscientists who were awarded for their extraordinary contributions to the field of mining, natural disaster, and different other branches of geoscience. Dr. Piyush has been conferred this prestigious award for his work in Natural hazard investigations including scientific studies related to natural hazards such as earthquakes, landslides, floods, and tsunamis.  More than 60 research papers authored or co-authored by Dr. Rautela have been published in national and international scientific journals. He is heading DMMC Uttarakhand since its inception and has supervised and monitored rescue and relief operations such as Kedarnath deluge in 2013.

Other than Dr. Rautela who received this award were Dr. Jitendra Shital Sangwai Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, Dr. P. Nandakumaran Central Ground Water Board, Ministry of Water Resources, Dr. Vemavarapu M.S.R. Murthy IIT (ISM), Dhanbad, Dr. Veerendra Singh FAM Research Group, Tata Steel Limited, Jamshedpur, Dr. Subodh Kumar Maiti IIT (ISM), Dhanbad, Dr. Srinivasa Sarma Drona CSIR – National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad, Dr. Bhabesh Chandra Sarkar IIT (ISM), Dhanbad, Dr. Radhakrishna Munukutla IIT Bombay, Dr. Anand Prakash Singh CSIR-NGRI, Hyderabad, Dr. Dhruvsen Singh University of Lucknow and Dr. Arun Deo Singh Banaras Hindu University.

On this occasion, different teams of geoscientists were also awarded for their extraordinary contribution. Those teams include:-

For Mineral Discovery & Exploration (excluding fossil fuels) of economic and/or strategic importance and application of innovative techniques:-

Atomic Mineral Directorate (AMD) team comprising of (i) Mr. Ashok Kumar Bhatt (ii) Mr. Dheeraj Pande (iii) Mr. Sujit Kumar Dash (iv) Mr. Giridhar Gadiyaram Venkata

  1. Geological Survey of India [GSI] team comprising (i) Mrs. Snehalata Mukherjee (ii) Mrs. Abhilipsa Dash (iii) Mr. Mohammad Arkan (iv) Mr. Noor Alam.

For Coal, Lignite, and Coal Bed Methane Discovery & Exploration of economic and/or strategic importance and application of innovative techniques:-

Mr. Dillip Kumar Majhee (ii) Mr. MD. Merajuddin Khan (iii) Mr. Satish Tirkey.

For ASIC Geosciences (including Stratigraphy, Structural Geology, Paleontology, Geomorphology, Economic Geology, Geodynamics, Petrology, Geochemistry, Mineralogy, Geochronology and Isotope Geology:-

  1. Dr. Srinivasa Sarma Drona CSIR – National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad 2. Joint Award to (i) Dr. Santosh Kumar, Kumaun University, and (ii) Dr. Biswajit Ghosh, University of Calcutta



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!